IXD303- Research design models (Week 1)

There are different types of design models which help designers plan their next project. I will specifically look at the following:

  • The Double Diamond-IDEO
  • Human- Centered Design Approach
  • Stanford d.school,

The Double Diamond

The Double Diamond process has been commonly used by many designers in order to structure design projects as well as explaining how the process works. The double diamond model was first used way back in 1996. The idea for model was created by Bela Banathy. The world of design and technology is forever evolving therefore so will eventually this process will need updated and changed with the times.

So Originally the Double Diamond design model was based on research on how designers work. The Design Council found some structure. The 4 main phases in this model:

  1. Discovery: finding out the problem we are trying to solve
  2. Define: Next analyse the content and define the problem
  3. Develop: think up ideas for possible solutions to the problem
  4. Deliver: pick the best solution and work on building it

The Design Council came up with this structure. I think this process helps make it clear for designers to follow. Before starting any project it’s important to gather research on the specific topic.

Recently a more up to date model by the design council was posted with the same idea. It’s basically an extension to original model. This new models will help designers by more innovated and creative in their approach especially in complex designs. Below is an example:

Human- Centered Design Approach

Another design model which is well known is the Human-Centered Design Approach. Human centered design is were you base your designs around humans and their needs. It’s important to design an interactive solution that meets the users needs.

IDEO say that “When you understand the people you’re trying to reach—and then design from their perspective—not only will you arrive at unexpected answers, but you’ll come up with ideas that they’ll embrace.”

Human centered design process consists of 6 main phases.

  1. Observation- Observing the end user. It’s important to understand the audience you are designing for and their needs.
  2. Ideation- Start to brainstorm/ ideas based on your users. The aim is to come up with as many ideas as possible.
  3. Rapid Prototyping- Start to develop a basic porotype. This is a rough draft so have plenty of time to redefine the idea.
  4. User Feedback-It is important Listen to the thoughts of your users feedback in order to help evolve your design,
  5. Iteration- Once your receive feedback, use this to content to develop your design and make changes. In this phase take time to iterate, test and redefine your design by improving and making necessary changes. This will take time but is worth the effor.t
  6. Implementation- Once your pleased with your final solution, it’s time to share your ideas to your audience.

human centered design process ideo

Stanford D School Model

The Stanford d .school is a place where people use design to develop their own creative potential and hopefully produce products which are successful. Their goal “Our goal is to help you use design to make change where you are.”

This school has a range of design programs for students, designers, and professional people alike.

The five main stages of Design Thinking process are:

  1. Empathise
  2. Define
  3. Ideate
  4. Prototype
  5. Test

Design Thinking models. Stanford d.school - Empathize IT

Design Thinking is an iterative process. This model is easy to learn and makes it easy for people to understand.


I think all these design models are interesting and a good way to help users when working on specific projects. Each model has a breakdown of the process users should follow in order to be succesful.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.